Harvest

When I was a preteen, I stayed a few days at my aunt’s house and she had a bookshelf of books.

There was one book I picked up by Barbara Johnson.  The way she wrote kept me interested and the topic was joy. At the time I read this book I was not depressed, I simply read the book because I was enjoying it. I put it back on the shelf when it was finished and this began my love of reading.  

I was reflecting back on the influences in my life and recollected how reading that book years ago  had planted seeds in my life. When going through the darkest depression ever more than 20 years later, I believe those seeds that were planted and rooted long ago, had developed and began to shoot forth in my spirit at the time I needed them most. 

I began Writing For Joy, in pursuit of fullness of joy, and forgot that I had been feeding myself teachings on joy, little by little over the years. Joyce Meyers authored a few of some integral seed planting books, that I had read as well.  Those books too, were seeds that had been planted in my early years of marriage and through the season of  a harried homeschooling mama. 

Now all those seeds planted, have grown and I have been spending my days harvesting them. Wrapping my mind around joy and how it applies to me today.

It is so important that we are aware of what we are planting in our Spirit. What sort of harvest do we want to be able to gather when we are hungriest?  Do we want to gather things of this world that promote death, or do we want to be able to gather life? 

There is a reason the scriptures use sowing, reaping, planting, gathering, and harvest. There are many ways that you can see these concepts coming into fruition even in these days. It still applies even with all the technology, all the running after ourselves and craziness of these times. It is still the same today; that if I plant an apple seed, I will get an apple tree. I will not get an apple tree if I plant weeds.  Just as I will not gain life from planting garbage.

Now it wasn’t me, that made these seeds grow. It was the Lord doing a work in me. Yet if I plant the wrong things in my time, there is no good seed for the Lord to grow. There is work required from us to reap a good harvest and a trusting that the Lord will cultivate it! 

I did not see the results of the planting when I thought I would, it came as a surprise when the Lord was finished with His care of it. Even when it had grown and was ready for harvest it took awhile for my slow mind to comprehend what He had done. But now I see His hand, I see His work and it is encouragement to keep going forth planting life, so that He may have His way.

Spring is getting close and I can just now imagine all the great seeds to plant and prepare for harvest, may I also be thinking about what I plant in my spirit. 

Galatians 6:7-8

 Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. Whoever sows to please their flesh, from the flesh will reap destruction; whoever sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life.

 

Image

Leave a Reply

