He gives and takes away

Let me state right now, that this is my honest opinion on revelation for my own life. I am not finger pointing, but this post is based on my experience and what I feel has been revealed to me. Maybe this will bless others, or not, but definitely is necessary for me on my journey of joy.

In the bible Job was taken through the ringer. God allowed Satan to test Job. Satan was allowed to take from Job, but not allowed to have Job’s life.  Job continued to serve the Lord.

In the bible there was a rich man that would not enter the kingdom of heaven because he would not lay all his worldly riches down for the Lord.

In the bible  Jesus used two fish to feed the multitudes.

Do I believe the bible? Yes. Have I seen over and over in my own life the difference that the Holy Spirit makes? Yes. Do I believe God is more than capable to sweep in and use His hand to change my circumstances? Yes. Yet sometimes even though He is capable, He does not move the way I expected. Whether it be a trial and testing season, or sin in the heart that needs to be dealt with, or just life in general, we go through pain and it hurts.

That being said, today I realized how incredibly shallow I have been over the years and had to repent.

To those that had to hear me vent about loosing my house, the incredibly tight income, the repossession of my car, while your heart was breaking, I sincerely repent!

Reflecting today, I truly do see the Lord’s hand in removing those things from my life. I don’t blame the enemy. The Lord knows me better than I know myself and those things were taking precedence. I was more concerned about making  the next house payment than I was the condition of my neighbors heart ( these neighbors in particular were ones you loved because the Lord says you should, but I didn’t like them much).

I didn’t like my neighbor, I liked my bills being paid.

I don’t say this lightly. I am thankful that I have been given much and had much taken. I never trusted the Lord so much in my life, than I do right now. Waiting day to day for the next bill to be paid.

I have grumbled and complained over material things and feel truly chastised for it.

But with the Lord’s correction comes love and grace, when I repent and turn away from my rebellion and wrong doing.

Just like if I saw my own children, being ungrateful and self absorbed I would step in, for their benefit, so my heavenly father has loved me enough to step into my life and remove the things that were not of Him.

Now I am not saying a home and a nice car can’t be from the Lord, but I do know they were things I had been chasing, and that is not His plan. It isn’t about whether I own a home or not, it is an issue with the condition of my heart.

It was time to stop and evaluate this week, what else does the Lord need to take away. I walk this journey, lighter, and blessed greatly that He cares enough to instruct and speak to me on the matters of the heart.

The correction left me humble. I sincerely thought chasing that dream was okay. It is not okay when material possessions consume your time and energy.

The enemy would try to condemn me, but the Lord convicted and I repented, I don’t need to hold onto my past sin, but look forward to what He has next now that it has been dealt with.

Hebrews 12:5-6

And have you completely forgotten this word of encouragement that addresses you as a father addresses his son? It says,

“My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline,
and do not lose heart when he rebukes you,
 because the Lord disciplines the one he loves,
and he chastens everyone he accepts as his son.”

Leave a Reply

