Beauty

“I don’t think of all the misery, but of the beauty that still remains.” 
― Anne FrankThe Diary of a Young Girl

I can not focus on the heartache, the heartbreak, the failings, the fear. If a girl that has seen such horror in her lifetime can find beauty, who am I to wallow in my little bit of tragedy. 

There is beauty all around me during my day. I only have to stop, take a moment and notice it. 

The measure of beauty comes in many different forms. We look to the beauty of our surroundings, the beauty in the heart of a generous and kind human, the beauty in a flower, the beauty in a newborn baby or the changing seasons.

The Lord is ever faithful. Always there waiting for me. I do not need to weep because of what has happened, I can rejoice that there is good, there is beauty and I am never alone.

As I grow older, my body changes; the scale keeps going up, my teeth damaged over time and my hair is more brittle with traces of gray. Media would have me look at what the world thinks beauty is and measure myself with the same scrutiny  As a young girl I never measured up. I certainly do not now. I can not look to the beauty of my day, to meet me in the mirror. My beauty is not outward, but will come from within.

I can not expect to be healthy by eating junk food. I can not expect my inner soul to be beautiful if I am feeding it the tragedy, sorrow and lies thrown my way. 

I must feed myself the word of God, build the  intimacy with my Lord through prayer and worship, I must rejoice, I must stop and look at the beauty that He provides.

The beauty in the morning, the next day and the next is always there, waiting to be discovered. 

May I always remember to stop and find it! What beauty have you found lately?

2 Corinthians 4:16-

Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.

 

Leave a Reply

