Vengeance

There is something heavy in our families past. Every now and then I come across something that makes me ache to the very core. My heart hurts and I want to weep. Then the anger tries to set in. 

I can say for the most part there is healing, but there has never been closure for us. So there are things that will remind me, the one that hurt us, was able to walk away, free to hurt another.

I take steps, small ones, to make sure that others know this person that hurt us is still out there. I do not doubt one bit, this persons guilt. To know that these kinds of hurts go on every day, does not help me, that makes the ache stronger. To know that there is healing, doesn’t help completely either, because all though there is healing, it is not forgotten. 

What I can do when the enemies voice comes nagging and whispering in my ear to remind me of that past, is to pray. I must remember that long ago, we forgave, we let go and do not want to pick it back up. The scripture that was given to me in the very first dark days, that now comes to mind again and again; vengeance is mine sayeth the Lord.

It is not up to me to make sure this person get’s their due. God knows the situation. God will make sure that justice is served. He is an awesome God, and the burdens of my heart, he cares about too. 

To bring the pain up over and over again, is how the enemy had trapped me into freezing up, and to hide within myself. To have been able to get to the place of forgiveness, wasn’t for the person’s health, they could care less if I forgave them or not, they have no respecter of person, but it was for me. 

I am able to let go, because that situation no longer owns me. No matter how much the enemy may try I will not pick it back up, I will not relive it, and I will not be burdened by that past. God has created a new thing in our home. There is a new peace. I will remember, He has said, vengeance is mine!

 

Romans 12:19-

Dear friends, never take revenge. Leave that to the righteous anger of God. For the Scriptures say,

“I will take revenge;  I will pay them back,” says the Lord.

 

One thought on “Vengeance

  1. Pingback: Choose Joy | writingforjoy

Leave a Reply

