Thanksgiving

Merriam- Webster’s  definition of thanksgiving :

1. The act of giving thanks

2. A prayer expressing gratitude

3.  A.   A public acknowledgement or celebration of divine goodness.

B. capitalized : Thanksgiving Day – a day appointed for giving thanks for divine goodness.

Today is Thanksgiving Day in the United States. It is a celebration that, to be honest should be celebrated every single day in our lives. Every day we should, myself included, stop and give thanks for divine goodness in our lives.

Now, the American Thanksgiving originated as a celebration for a successful harvest the pilgrims had, due to the advice of the Indians. The Pilgrims rejoiced that they had a harvest and took an opportunity to invite the Indians to sit and share with them. This harvest, the pilgrims knew, would not have been successful without the wisdom of those who knew the land. They gave thanks to the Lord for His divine goodness, for bringing an opportunity to learn and to be able to bring in a harvest they so desperately needed.

When I give thanks, joy rises forth. I remember a hope when I look back and see what has already been done. I remember what I have to be thankful for and expect more to be thankful for tomorrow, the next day and the next. I have seen faithfulness and can expect to see it again from the Lord.

Naming the things I am thankful for each day this month, makes me realize, I never run out of my supply of subjects to be thankful for. I will think of one thankful thought, and another comes and another.

We don’t need an American holiday to give thanks. We don’t need to gorge ourselves with feasting one day of the year because the nation has declared a holiday. What we do need is a deep recognition of thanks in our heart continually. A continuous daily prayer expressing gratitude or declaring public acknowledgement of divine goodness.

Oh the difference you see in the public’s faces when they are looking forward to Thanksgiving day.

There is a light and an expression of joy, that crosses so many faces as they wish you well, because Thanksgiving day is nearing. This is a light that is available everyday, if we only remember to stop and give thanks.

I like what has become the traditional fare at our home for our Thanksgiving dinner, and I like the time spent set aside for a special day, but mostly I like that today and everyday I can give thanks to the one, whose love endures forever.

Challenge this day my friends: Make a point to give a prayer expressing thanksgiving, not only today but everyday, for our Lord is that good 🙂

Psalm 100:4 

Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name.

(KJV)

One thought on “Thanksgiving

  1. I am thankful my God supplies all my need. I am thankful He has blessed me with a family and with friends that are like family. I am thankful that I have a reason to keep on, no matter how tough the fight, each day is new and each day has joy in it. Thank you Lord for life abundantly !!!

Leave a Reply

