Think Think Think

If only I had a bigger house. If only I was thinner. If only I could get my spouse to actually understand me. Then I would surely be happy!

Our culture today makes us look at what everyone else is, or what everyone else has and often leaves us dissatisfied with our own lives.

The truth of the matter is, if we live in comparison, or in a  constant state of I want, happiness will be outside of our grasp. There is  difference between a true hope for what God plans, and lust and coveting after things.

There will always be an idea that the grass is greener on the other side. There is always the idea that there is another person that could meet our needs better or another job out there that surely will have less strife and problems.

The truth of the matter is, if you are living for God and seeking after HIS plans for your life rather than what the world   says you need and want, then you will have a true joy.

Laying aside our self and our own thoughts can be hard, but it is the most rewarding thing we can do when we actually lay down our lives and say, YES LORD!

Having the best of material things or the perfect body is only surface and will not last. Eventually there will be something better you want or the body will never compare to someone else.

I find it so much more rewarding and truly joyful to think on my haves, rather than my have nots. I find it true joy to focus on where God is taking me, rather than where I think I should be and what I think I should have.

I don’t mean to come across harsh or finger pointing, these issues have been long battles I have battled. I always thought I was fat, even when I was 20 pounds under weight. I always wanted a job when I was home with my kids, now that I work, I want to be home. I wanted healing and now that it isn’t as full of a healing I wanted, I would grumble and complain rather than be thankful for how far I have come.

There is always something isn’t there?

Challenge this day my friends: Think on the good, on what you have, and on where God wants to take you rather than all that the world tells you that you should measure yourself with. He is good, He is God and we are not! Rest in Him!

Philippians 4:8-

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things

2 thoughts on “Think Think Think

  1. Pingback: Choose Joy | writingforjoy

Leave a Reply

