Butterflies fly fly fly (when it is time)

When I was in fifth grade I brought home a report card that labeled me perfectly, my teacher knew me well.

The teacher stated; “Shaey is like a beautiful butterfly flitting from flower to flower. She is full of life, but often moves on to a new project before completely finishing her first.”

Reflecting on these words I realize that to this day, I still want to ‘move on’ before the Lord is finished with the work He has begun in me. If the growing process get’s uncomfortable I want to exit or stop growing all together. I do not like to be still and wait for the Lord to finish what He has begun in me.

Many times I have put my hands to work on something or set my heart to something only to find out that it was not where the Lord wanted to grow me. He often had to remove me from constant distractions and cause me to hold still. Just as the Caterpillar inside of a cocoon must stay where she belongs until her wings are fully developed, so must I stay and allow the Lord to finish growing me .

If all the Caterpillars decided that life was finished without their transformation into beautiful butterflies, we would all miss the beauty they bring, the work they do, and they would miss out on the opportunity to fly.

Challenge this day my friend: Take time to stop and allow the Lord to finish His work in you… so that you can be ALL He intended…. then make sure you spread your wings and fly!

Philippians 1:6-

being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

(NIV)

6 thoughts on “Butterflies fly fly fly (when it is time)

Leave a Reply

