I want MORE !

I have to laugh when I think of all the ways I  have ran to Dan and expected him to fill my every need. He was running in circles trying to make me happy and fill all my needs, fix all my hurts, be provider, romancer, friend, confidant and happiness.

No matter what he would do, I would find a way to notice him missing it somewhere else. I was the proverbial child stomping my foot, looking at the desert and saying, “I want MORE!”, even if I had something in my hand.

This same cycle would happen with others in my life. I would get lonely and I would run to a friend to fill that emptiness. People would hurt me and I would run to someone to help heal my wounds. Often these people were busy and not available and I would be upset.

It is time to pull up the big kid pants in our lives and learn that man, woman, or child can not fill our needs.

Reality is, that it is impossible for any man to meet all the needs of another.

God created us for relationship and with a void only HE can fill.

I am most discontented with my husband, friends, coworkers, parents and children when I am not going to God for my needs first. Humans fall short of expectations, because there are voids in our lives that a humans are not supposed to fill. I am putting my expectations on people to do a job, that truly isn’t theirs to do.

Loneliness, anxiety, worry and depression can rise up even when surrounded by loving, encouraging people. I would expect so much from them and feel sad when I didn’t get whatever it is at the moment that I thought I needed. I would run in circles trying to get my need filled and feel empty in the process.

While for a minute I may feel I want ‘more’ from people, what I am really needing is to take time for more of HIM. In order for God to truly be God of my life, I need to stop running to ‘humans’ to fix things, to help me, to fill my heart or to tickle my ears. I need to run to God with my heart, sitting at his feet, praying, read the word, listen and let Him meet those needs.

God desires to be our everything and allow humans to be the ‘extra’ gift in life. He wants to be first and foremost. Then to sow into others, not expecting them to fill us up.

Challenge this day my friend : When you shout out to those in your life that, “I want MORE!” recognize that the desire and cry should be going out to our great God the creator, and not the creation. Stop spinning your wheels and sit at HIS feet.

Luke 10:38-42

Now as they went on their way, Jesus entered a village. And a woman named Martha welcomed him into her house.

And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching.

But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me.”

But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things,

but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

(NIV)

5 thoughts on “I want MORE !

  1. This is something the Lord has been teaching me this week. Not to throw a fit and stomp my feet like a spoiled child when I don’t get my way. LOL Thank you Lord for having the patience with me!

  2. Dan is very lucky that you have figured out this truth! 🙂 But not as fortunate as you are!…such an important truth to realize…the challenge is in living it out!

    Below is my fave line from the post, and it was really effective to make it a “stand alone” sentence!

    “God created us for relationship and with a void only HE can fill.”

    • Yes..the walking it out is a daily task 🙂 or even moment by moment. It is so easy to forget truths unless I remind myself each time the situation arises with what the word says. HE is more than enough for me !

Leave a Reply

