Sing a new song

I am called to sing. I was the eight year old that would write songs and record them on my little boom box, completely oblivious to how it actually sounded once recorded. My aunt taught me how to sing to a music track so I could sing in church. My parents bought me a karaoke machine one year for Christmas and I wore the machine out. My heart experiences joy in singing a new song, a fresh song of what is on my heart for the day.

When I was 15 there was a pastor that had a message titled ‘sing baby sing’. I have never forgotten that message. Singing in all situations at all times, sing through it. Song changes the atmosphere, changes the frustration, and changes your flesh reaction to the moments you are going through.

I do know there are many out there that hate to sing. But the experience of expressing a song of thankfulness, joy, praise and hope will  eventually bring  a more natural reaction of praise when you are in situations that you wish to do without. Practicing praise will bring it bubbling in your heart. Even if the song is expressed simply by speaking the words, writing them down or a whisper; rejoice, praise and lift of the name of Jesus with a new song  that comes from you.

There is something amazing about  letting go of the self and letting loose and belting out a joy. I will sometimes start with a thank you or if I don’t know where to start in the moment I will  repeat the psalms. Focusing on a joyous song completely takes my eyes off of the situations I am in and puts a joy to my day…. regardless.

I have learned also the importance of writing these fresh songs down. It doesn’t matter how simple, or if it is only one line. Sometimes the rest of the song will come later. Sometimes the one lines are only going to be one line, but in the times of sorrow or heartache it is a joy to look back and read moments of joy that were written down.

Challenge this day my friend: Start with a step. Sing a simple song and don’t focus on how it sounds, just let loose and the words to take root. Sing a joy, a thank you, hopes or what you wish to see as an outcome of your situation. Sing a new song. Go on, I dare you , sing!

Psalm 33:3-

Sing to Him a new song; play skillfully and shout for joy.

Leave a Reply

