Enjoy each moment

My sweet friend enjoyed the movement of her children within her. She thrilled at the ultrasounds and their tiny little heartbeats. She had waited a long time for this and now they were here in her womb, developing and pleasing their mommies heart with the expectation of their arrival.

The day came for the twin boys to be born. Sadly they arrived too early for the hospital to take any measure to help them. They lived and breathed for almost two hours. Mother and Father got to hold them, and the blessing of taking pictures of them, but in the end the boys did not get to experience life on this earth for more than that moment.

My friends heart is aching in ways I could never possibly describe. She will go through her grief and cry out to the God of all creation and ask why.

I am left remembering that pure joy on her face with the news she truly was expecting. The joy when she placed her hand on her stomach and talked about her plans.

I know my friend was a wonderful loving mama to these boys. I know if she chooses to have more children she will be wonderful with them. I also know that even though the loss is so heavy, she values these little boys that she lost.

There is bitter sweetness to the moments of pregnancy that she had. She felt them move, she experienced the growth of these boys, she heard their heart beat and saw their faces on the ultrasound. She enjoyed each moment that she had them, even though her time was far far too short.

I have learned from standing on the outside of this experience that I have treasures in my life that I did not realize and I was taking for granted. Even though I hurt at moments in my  life, I need to look at the joys in those moments. I need to always rejoice, always pray and always give thanks; I need to make sure I recognize some moments in life it will be easier than others to do so.

Challenge this day my friend: I encourage you to enjoy each moment with these treasures that you have. Each moment is precious and may not last as long as we wish and it is in the times of grief you want to be able to look back on the joys.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

(NIV)

 

Leave a Reply

