Whom shall we please?

It has been awhile since I have blogged. I went through a season of trying to be there and please people, then I went through a season of not caring and trying to please myself, and finally realized my own self needs to get out of the equation and I need to please only one.

Even though I receive a blessing when I please a friend or my hubby lifts me up with his praises when I have caused joy in Dans heart,  I realized anew how important it is to please God first and foremost in my life. We can never please the human fully, we will always fall short. I for one know how fully I can fail at pleasing everyone. I also know that I can never please my own self, I am always reminded of how human I am and that my own desires can change with the wind.  I can not seek after my own own desires and be fully blessed.

It is natural to want to please humans; we want to be seen as kind and friendly, or as the brave one, the smart one, the pretty one, the talented one, the best friend, or even the ‘rebel’ for those that it pleases.

I absolutely love when my people in my life are pleased with me. But when I stop and pause, the bigger question is, am I pleasing the Lord to the best of my abilities? Where am I applying the best of my heart? I know we are called to please God above man or self and I must stop and ask; ” am I doing that?”

I have had people ask me, “how do you know what is pleasing to the Lord?”

This my friend is answered only by seeking Him first. Spending time in prayer and getting to know the Lord through His word, in both your head and your heart and applying that word to your life.

You can not have fullness of joy if you are rushing around trying to please man ( this includes your own self desires.) The happiness or the joy will only last as long as the moment lasts. Then you are left with the silence and the consequences of doing things your own way. There is not a spiritual joy that you get the moment to revel in when you are doing things God’s way and you are blessed with HIS blessing on your life.

Seek FIRST the kingdom of God. Seek His will, His way and what would be pleasing to HIM. Then the life will reap the benefits of living in God’s outpouring joy!

Even when things don’t seem to be going right, if you are seeking Him first, your heart will be full. He is just good that way !

Challenge this day my friends: Seek to do that which pleases the LORD first

Proverbs 16:7- When a man’s way please the Lord, he makes even his enemies to be at peace with Him.

(NKJV)

Leave a Reply

