Honey are you ready for those shoes?

 

I was sitting in a coffee shop, looking out the window and I saw a girl dressed to the nines.

Her clothing and style was impeccable. She had every hair in place on her head. Stylish black tights, pencil skirt, warm winter coat that had sass with a coordinating scarf flowing, and a perfect handbag to go with the look. And then I noticed she stumbled and was walking with clumsiness and no grace. As I looked down I saw three to five-inch platform shoes with a pencil heel and while yes they went with the outfit she looked like an oaf.

She was trying to walk on stilts and not very well. I suppose without realizing it she left a look at me and I am about to fall on my face impression. I could not help it, I had to laugh. I wanted to ask her ; ” honey are you ready for those shoes?” But I could clearly see for myself that she was not.

Here she had taken so much time to look good and I am sure thought she planned so well, and then had to walk all through down town in clumsiness and discomfort.

There is a season of maturing and preparation to stand on joy. It takes practice to live a joy filled life. Something you must take time at and practice daily. Often we stumble into old patterns, just as this girl was stumbling on her stilts.

It is time to be stable on our joy. To take off the uncomfortable shoes and put on shoes that will keep you on a solid foundation. The shoes that are big and clunky remind me of the worries of the world. Do we really want to take those on, stumbling through life rather than walking boldly in our inheritance of joy?

Challenge this day my friends, what are YOU standing on. It is time to evaluate and remember practice makes perfect.  Practice walking in joy and prepare the way by having your mind on a solid foundation. Do not take on something that is unhealthy and you are not ready to fight head on with joy.

Leave a Reply

